Regret

I always knew you would leave,

That was clear right from the start.

You did not teach me how to grieve,

Now you can’t since we’re apart.

I never thought I’d be so young,

With so much of my life ahead.

You did not hear the song unsung,

Now you can’t since you are dead.

I always said it would be later,

That I would end up all alone.

You did not teach me not to hate her,

Now you can’t since you are stone.

I never told you that it’s okay,

With conviction in my voice.

You did not listen to me anyway,

Now you can’t since you killed that choice.

I always think of all our times,

That the future could have held.

You did not teach me how that’s a crime,

Now you can’t since you rebelled.

I never want you to come back,

With those thoughts deep in your head.

You did not learn my plan of attack,

To keep those harsh thoughts dead.

Leave a comment